DCA

In 2019, building company and real estate developer DCA started the construction works for the first ‘floating apartments’, a project on the fashionable Eilandje in downtown Antwerp. An eye-catching project for more than one reason. Our strategy was not just to focus on explaining the project but also, and primarily, to tell a socially relevant story. This would reflect upon the project developer, but also upon the city and all other stakeholders.

dca
dca

The structure of the ‘Montevideo’ project was a strong, newsworthy story. That’s why we chose not to focus solely on facts and technicalities, but to showcase the wider picture. The iconic architecture, for example. But also the way in which mobility in the area was not hindered since the excavated ground was not transported by lorries but by ships, for example. 

Broader focus after the press moment

We knew one thing: the more relevant and newsworthy the story, the more opportunities there would be to spread the story beyond regional media. And, although we don’t always recommend it, we thought a press moment could be useful too. Not a classic press conference though but rather an informal gathering at which experts could provide information and insights about the project. The approach generated huge interest which, in turn, led to extensive coverage in the newspapers, online and on regional television. 

A third-party, credible ambassador

You can blow your own trumpet as much as you like but you’ll sound far more credible if a third-party says you’re doing a great job too. The Antwerp alderman for mobility was a strong, credible ambassador for this project. In the press release and during the press conference, he explained why it was so important to Antwerp’s mobility that the tons of soil were transported over water instead of on the roads.

Unambiguous message 

By structuring and telling the story in a strong, journalistic, newsworthy manner, we succeeded in maintaining a good overview of the communication process. Our advisory memo, Q&A and core messages, which could be consulted by all parties in advance, really helped. They kept everyone on the same song sheet, right from the start. We set the right tone right away. And this formed a great basis for further communication. 

Your experts

Joost Freys
Joost Freys

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top

DCA

Fin 2019, l’entreprise de construction et de promotion immobilière DCA a démarré la construction des premiers “appartements flottants” à Eilandje à Anvers: un projet atypique à plusieurs égards. Notre stratégie a été d’expliquer le projet, mais surtout de raconter un récit pertinent d’un point de vue sociétal, mettant en valeur le promoteur immobilier, la ville et les différents acteurs impliqués.

dca
dca

La construction même du projet ‘Montevideo’ était déjà en soi un récit intéressant. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé d’en présenter les données et caractéristiques techniques sans oublier le contexte du projet, tel que l’architecture iconique du bâtiment. Nous avons aussi expliqué comment la mobilité serait préservée dans le quartier, notamment en évacuant les terres par bateaux plutôt que par camions. 

Davantage d’attention après le point presse

Nous le savons: plus un récit est pertinent et intéressant, plus il a de chance de dépasser le simple cercle des médias locaux. Bien que nous ne le conseillions pas nécessairement, l’organisation d’un point presse nous semblait judicieuse dans ce cas. Il ne s’agissait pas d’organiser un entretien classique, mais plutôt un moment informel au cours duquel les experts pouvaient expliquer le projet. L’intérêt pour celui-ci fut énorme et a attiré l’attention des journaux, de la presse en ligne et de la télévision régionale.

Un ambassadeur crédible en la personne d’une partie tierce

Rien ne vaut la parole d’un tiers pour vanter vos services! L’échevin anversois de la mobilité fut un ambassadeur de choix pour parler de ce projet. Dans le communiqué de presse et lors du point presse, il a expliqué pourquoi il était si important pour la mobilité anversoise de privilégier la voie maritime pour évacuer les tonnes de terre excavées. 

Un message clair et précis

Grâce à un récit journalistique fort , nous sommes parvenus à garder le contrôle de la communication. Nos avis, notre foire aux questions et nos messages clés soumis en amont à toutes les parties y ont aussi contribué. Ils ont permis d’emblée à ce que toutes les parties impliquées communiquent d’une seule et même voix. Le ton était donné, ce qui nous a permis de communiquer efficacement et correctement par la suite.

Vos experts

Joost Freys
Joost Freys

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top