ERA

It’s become a tradition: in the first week of the year, ERA (the biggest realty group in Flanders) publishes its annual real estate barometer. This analyses the real estate market over the past 12 months in collaboration with the University of Louvain. We used these data to create a news story to underscore ERA’s expertise.

acasa
acasa

Set the central message.

A realty group which generates over 4,000 individual sales per year automatically accumulates a mountain of interesting data. There’s bound to be – at least – one news story hidden in all those figures. The only problem? The mountain of data is so huge that it becomes unmanageable. So it’s important to decide on your story’s central message first. 

For the ERA Barometer 2020, we chose to explain why it had been such an extraordinarily lucrative year for the real estate market. We did this by comparing the increase in house prices to the low rate of inflation: ‘House prices in Flanders have risen four times faster than inflation; this is unparalleled over the last 10 years’. It’s a clear and strong message.

Use an academic expert to back you up.

A key message is even more powerful if it is supported by a neutral expert. Together with Sven Damen, a real estate economist from the University of Louvain, we set out to find the most relevant, statistical analyses. We wrote a press release with facts and figures, perspectives and analyses. Are we buying smaller or larger homes than before? Which big cities are the most expensive and which are the cheapest? What impact will the cancellation of tax-breaks for homeowners have? And so forth.

Organise a press conference (sometimes).

Is a press conference still useful these days? For most of our clients we would not recommend it, since a lot can be done digitally. And nowadays, journalists have less time to be physically present at these press moments. However, a press conference can sometimes be a good idea. In the case of the ERA Barometer, it gave the media a chance to challenge Sven Damen and Johan Krijgsman, the CEO of ERA Belgium, face-to-face. 

This strategy turned out to be a success. Eight media outlets turned up, the story was picked up by news broadcasts on both the largest public and the largest commercial TV station, and there was widespread radio and newspaper coverage, including three front pages. ERA was clearly presented as the country’s main real estate expert. Mission accomplished.

Your experts

Hannelore Schmid
Hannelore Schmid

PR Consultant

Joachim Deman
Joachim Deman

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top

ERA

C’est désormais une tradition: la première semaine de l’an neuf, ERA, le plus grand groupe immobilier de Flandre, publie son baromètre annuel de l’immobilier. Ils y analysent, en collaboration avec la KU Leuven, l’évolution du marché de l’immobilier au cours des 12 mois écoulés. Nous avons pris pour base toutes ces données pour mettre en valeur l’expertise du groupe ERA au moyen d’un récit crédible.

ac
ac

Déterminer le message clé

Un groupe immobilier qui réalise plus de 4.000 ventes par an dispose automatiquement d’une montagne de chiffres intéressants pouvant donner lieu à (au minimum) un récit tout aussi intéressant. Problème: tous ces chiffres deviennent très vite indigestes. Il faut donc commencer par déterminer le message clé du récit.

Pour le baromètre ERA 2020, nous avons décidé d’expliquer pourquoi l’année 2019 fut exceptionnelle pour l’immobilier, en comparant la hausse des prix de l’immobilier à l’inflation: « Inédit depuis 10 ans: les prix de l’immobilier flamand augmentent quatre fois plus vite que l’inflation. » Un message fort et clair à la fois.

Étayer le message en citant un expert académique

Un message clé augmente en puissance lorsqu’il est étayé par un expert neutre. Sven Damen, l’économiste immobilier de la KU Leuven, nous a aidés à extraire les analyses statistiques les plus pertinentes. Nous avons rédigé un communiqué de presse reprenant différents chiffres, perspectives et analyses. Les Flamands achètent-ils dorénavant un logement plus grand ou plus petit? Quels sont les centres-villes les plus chers et les meilleurs marchés? Quelles seront les répercussions de la suppression en Flandre du bonus logement? Etc.

Organiser (parfois) une conférence de presse

Faut-il encore organiser des conférences de presse? Généralement, nous le déconseillons puisqu’aujourd’hui, la priorité est au numérique. Les journalistes ont aussi moins de temps à consacrer aux points presse. Mais il peut s’avérer judicieux, parfois, d’organiser une conférence de presse comme ce fut le cas pour le baromètre ERA. En effet, la presse a pu s’entretenir ainsi plus longuement avec Sven Damen et Johan Krijgsman, CEO de ERA Belgium. 

Cette stratégie a payé! Huit médias étaient à la conférence de presse. Le récit a été diffusé dans les journaux télévisés de VRT et de VTM, avant d’être diffusé massivement à la radio et dans la presse écrite. Il a en outre fait trois fois la Une. ERA s’est profilé comme le véritable expert immobilier du pays. Mission accomplie!

Vos experts

Hannelore Schmid
Hannelore Schmid

PR Consultant

Joachim Deman
Joachim Deman

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top